Members of the Association for International Broadcasting have elected a new Executive Committee for the two years from 1 March 2018. The AIB Executive Committee provides governance and oversight of the activities of the Association and helps to define the strategic direction of the not-for-profit organisation.

11 senior executives of AIB Member companies stood for election, of which six were existing Executive Committee members who offered themselves for re-election. After votes were counted from the 48% turnout of AIB Members eligible to vote, those elected to the Executive Committee are (pictured above from top left):

  • Abdulla Al-Najjar, Al Jazeera Media Network
  • John Maguire, FMM
  • Anastasia Ellis, Bloomberg
  • Klaus Bergmann, DW
  • Simon Kendall, BBC World Service
  • Alexey Nikolov, RT

“The field of candidates in this year’s election for the AIB’s Executive Committee was immensely strong,”says AIB chief executive Simon Spanswick. “I’m delighted that the Association for International Broadcasting’s Members have elected such a strong Executive Committee, and one that brings together a range of expertise and knowledge from major global broadcasters that will help steer the Association in the rapidly-changing media marketplace. My colleagues and I at the AIB Secretariat look forward to working closely with the Executive Committee as the Association continues to expand both its work and its membership.”

The AIB Executive Committee holds office for a two-year period. Members of this new Committee will hold office from 1 March 2018 until 29 February 2020.


Share This

Share this post with colleagues and friends