AIB Awards 2008 – the winners celebrate!

The results of the 2008 AIB Media Excellence Awards were announced at a
star-studded dinner in London on 12 November. The annual celebration of success
in international broadcasting was over-booked, with more than 215 guests from
all over the world joining the evening at funky LSO St Luke’s.

You can read about all the finalists in our special Awards brochure


Our winners:

Best radio current affairs
Winner Tinderbox
Production – Where Next, A Soldier’s Journey

Best television current affairs
Winner Strix TV –
Class of ‘07

Best investigative TV documentary
Winner BBC Northern
Ireland – The Pitbull Sting

Clearest radio coverage of a single
news event
Winner BBC World
Service – The World Today: Chinese Party Congress

Clearest TV coverage of a single news
Joint winners SABC – Hambani
France 24 – Crackdown in the Heart of

Best creative TV feature
Winner Rockhopper TV
– A Sporting Chance

Best creative radio feature
Winner BBC
Portuguese for Africa – The Amazon Paradox

Best cross-media production
Winner BBC World
Service – Bangladesh Boat Project

Most innovative use of graphics
powered by Vizrt
Winner NFL Network – Games Graphics Package

Most creative marketing strategy
powered by Russia Today TV
Winner Sveriges Radio – The Programme Guide

Most innovative technology
powered by Bloomberg Television
Winner Link Research – The Prague Steps

Most creative specialist genre
Winner SVT – The
Truth About Marika

International TV personality of the
Winner Ross Kemp,
Sky One

International radio personality of
the year
Winner 3FM

AIB Editors’ Award 2008
France 24

AIB INSI Special Award
Sami Al-Hajj

We will be announcing the 2009 AIB Media Excellence
Awards in March. The Awards will be presented on Wednesday 11 November 2009 –
mark the date in your diary now!

Share This